Feist Announces New Album Multitudes, Shares Songs: Listen

Feist has released three new songs: “Hiding Out in the Open,” “In Lightning,” and “Love Who We Are Meant To.” They mark her first new solo tracks in six years, following the 2017 album Pleasure. She’s got a new record on the way, too, titled Multitudes. It’s out April 14 via Interscope. Find the songs below and album information below.

Tonight (February 14), Feist will debut new music during a free Valentine’s Day “mini concert” livestream.

Over the past two years, Feist played a series of intimate concerts dubbed Multitudes, which featured the premiere of new music and a special in-the-round performance setup. The shows were created with the aim of bringing people together as they emerged from lockdown. During one of the last stops, she ended up harmonizing with an electrical buzzing sound in the basement of a venue and, in true Feist fashion, turned it into an improvised song.

Feist wrote most of the songs for her new album during her tour. “The last few years were such a period of confrontation for me, and it feels like it was at least to some degree for everyone,” she said in a press statement. “We confronted ourselves as much as our relationships confronted us. It felt like our relational ecosystems were clearer than ever and so whatever was normally obscured—like a certain way of avoiding conflict or a certain way of talking around the subject—were all of a sudden thrust into the light. And in all that reassessment, the chance to find footing on healthier, more honest ground became possible, and the effort to maintain avoidance actually felt like it took more effort than just handing ourselves over to the truth.”

Last September, Feist pulled out of Arcade Fire’s tour after opening the band’s first two concerts in Dublin. At both shows, all proceeds from Feist’s merchandise sales were donated to Women’s Aid Dublin, an organization dedicated to stopping domestic violence across Ireland. She cited allegations of sexual misconduct against frontman Win Butler as part of her decision to leave the tour. (Butler has maintained that all of the alleged interactions were consensual.) “It can be a lonely road to make sense of ill treatment. I can’t solve that by quitting, and I can’t solve it by staying. But I can’t continue,” Feist wrote in a lengthy essay.

Read “Hard Feelings: A Conversation With Feist.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


01 In Lightning
02 Forever Before
03 Love Who We Are Meant To
04 Hiding Out in the Open
05 The Redwing
06 I Took All of My Rings Off
07 Of Womankind
08 Become the Earth
09 Borrow Trouble
10 Martyr Moves
11 Calling All the Gods
12 Song for Sad Friends

Source link

Source: News

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *