THE WAEVE Announce Digital Deluxe Edition Of Their Acclaimed Self-titled Debut Album | XS Noize

Photo Credit: Steve Gullick

Transgressive Records today announce the release of a digital deluxe edition of the acclaimed self-titled debut album from The WAEVE, composed of Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall, available now.

The expanded digital deluxe version includes the standard album, plus 4 bonus tracks – ‘Standing Still’ / ‘Sure Feels Like Something’ / ‘On Your Knees, Baby’ / ‘Old Fashioned Morning’ – available digitally for the first time. Listen to ‘Standing Still”’ here.

The band’s UK tour will see them play London’s Lafayette tonight and Chalk in Brighton tomorrow, ahead of summer dates including Primavera Sound.

The album is produced by The WAEVE and James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Foals, HAIM) and recorded in London early last year, ‘The WAEVE’ is a collection of tracks from songwriters Graham Coxon and Rose Elinor Dougall. Joining creative forces in The WAEVE gave the duo the opportunity to push past their instrumental comfort zones. Many tracks feature Graham on saxophone, one of the first instruments he played as a young musician back in the 80s. The first single ‘Can I Call You’ starts as a ballad and then morphs into a krautrock-style motorik number with a sprawling Coxon guitar solo. ‘All Along’ features Graham on cittern, a medieval folk lute. Rose plays the piano and an ARP 2000 modular synth. The heavy weather all over ‘The WAEVE’ recalls the blustery folk rock of Sandy Denny or John & Beverly Martyn, while tracks such as ‘Kill Me Again‘ and ‘Over and Over’ recall the 70s rock of Kevin Ayers or Van der Graaf Generator, almost industrial in places.

The WAEVE – UK Tour 2023 – Remaining Dates
27 March – LONDON – Lafayette
28 March – BRIGHTON – Chalk

The WAEVE – EU Summer Dates 2023

29 May – 4 June – PRIMAVERA SOUND – Barcelona, Spain (Club Primavera)
28 June – BITTERZOET – Amsterdam
23 June – THE GRAND SOCIAL – Dublin
13 July – VIELLES CHARRUES – France

Tickets information here.

The WAEVE Album Tracklisting:

1 Can I Call You
2 Kill Me Again
3 Over And Over
4 Sleepwalking
5 Drowning
6 Someone Up There
7 All Along
8 Undine
9 Alone And Free
10 You’re All I Want To Know


Source link

Source: News

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *